Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Fight Slavery !

A tool to understand the labor practices of suppliers

July 15 2014, 16:03pm

Posted by Guillaume

A tool to understand the labor practices of suppliers

I recently posted on the blog a few articles about big companies which dealt with dubious suppliers (like Thai fishermen). I was wondering if it was possible that they really didn't know how their partners worked. Honestly I don't think but I can't assert it of course.

So it came to my mind to look which tools exists to check the reliability of suppliers. An anti-slavery organization called Made in a Free World, collaborating with the U.S. Department of State, created a supply chain assessment software tool for businesses.

Thanks to it, businessmen just have to go on the website, explain what they want, and they will get a full list of who's reliable and who's not. With this initiative, honest companies can be privileged against the ones which practice modern slavery and child labor.

Of course this tool can't be perfect and is still not able to index every suppliers but that's a fantastic way to identify companies with absolutely no respect for the CSR.

I invite you to have a look on their website and to look at the video which perfectly explains the role of Made in a Free World.

Comment on this post